SEPA, which stands for Single Euro Payments Area, is an initiative that aims to simplify and standardize euro payments across Europe. It enables individuals and businesses to make payments in euros to any SEPA country as easily as they would within their own country. SEPA is now used by over 500 million people and businesses in 36 countries, making it the largest single payments area in the world. In this article, we will provide you with a complete list of SEPA countries, ensuring you have all the information you need about this economic integration.

What is SEPA?

SEPA was established by the European Union and the European Payments Council (EPC) to harmonize and streamline payment transactions within Europe. It eliminates the need for separate domestic payment systems and allows for the seamless transfer of funds across borders.

SEPA countries have adopted a common set of rules and standards, including the use of an International Bank Account Number (IBAN) for identification and the ISO 20022 XML messaging format for electronic transactions. This ensures that payments are processed efficiently and securely, benefiting both individuals and businesses operating in the eurozone.

The SEPA Countries

As of 2023, the SEPA countries include:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus
  6. Czech Republic
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Iceland
  15. Ireland
  16. Italy
  17. Latvia
  18. Liechtenstein
  19. Lithuania
  20. Luxembourg
  21. Malta
  22. Monaco
  23. Netherlands
  24. Norway
  25. Poland
  26. Portugal
  27. Romania
  28. San Marino
  29. Slovakia
  30. Slovenia
  31. Spain
  32. Sweden
  33. Switzerland
  34. United Kingdom

SEPA Participants

In addition to the SEPA countries listed above, some non-EU countries have also joined SEPA through agreements with the European Union. These countries include:

  • Andorra
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Guernsey
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Switzerland

Benefits of SEPA

SEPA brings numerous benefits to individuals and businesses alike. Some of the key advantages include:

  • Simplified payments: With SEPA, making euro payments within the SEPA zone is as easy as making domestic payments. This eliminates the need for separate bank accounts in different countries and reduces the complexity of international transactions.
  • Faster transfers: SEPA transfers are typically processed within one business day, ensuring quicker payment settlements compared to traditional cross-border transfers.
  • Cost-effective: SEPA payments are often less expensive than other international transfers, thanks to standardized fees and reduced intermediary charges.
  • Increased competition: SEPA fosters competition among payment service providers, leading to improved services and competitive pricing for customers.
  • Easier access to new markets: SEPA has made it easier for businesses to expand into new markets and to trade with other businesses in the SEPA zone.


SEPA has revolutionized the way euro payments are made within Europe. By bringing together numerous countries under a common framework, it has simplified cross-border transactions and opened up new opportunities for individuals and businesses. SEPA is constantly evolving, with new payment schemes and services being introduced on a regular basis.